Facebook OPSEC

A new software application in Facebook can let people know exactly where you are and even show a map and allow others nearby to see you as well.  This could be pose an increased risk to military personel.  Information is being dispersed through normal channels, but if you’d like to go ahead and check into this and see if it’s enabled on your profile or not, follow these directions:

“PLACES I CHECKED INTO”

HOW TO DISABLE IT.
1. A new software application has been introduced in to Facebook called “PLACES I CHECKED INTO” This is an automatic service which will post your current location which depending on the privacy settings of your account, which display this information to all users. The following steps enable this function to be disabled:

Step 1. Click Account then Privacy Setting. On the first page that appears click Customise settings.

Step 2. Under Things I share Heading, disable “Include me in “People Here Now” after I check in” box by un-ticking the box. Then change the “Places I check in to” tab to only me by clicking on the drop down menu on the right, choosing Custom, then Only Me, then Save Settings.

Step 3. To stop other users from posting your location on Facebook, under the “Things others share” section click the Edit Settings tab to the right of “Friends can check me in to Places”. Click the drop down menu, and choose “disabled”.

Step 4. The final stage is to stop the application itself from automatically posting your location. You do this by going back to the first page entitled “Privacy Setting”. At the bottom of the page is a section entitled “Applications and Websites”. Click “edit settings” which is highlighted blue. Click the Edit Settings tab next to “Info accessible through your friends”.

Step 5. Then untick the boxes as indicated below, once completed click on Save Changes, then Okay on the confirmation screen.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: